Electoral Board

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  1. Paul Smith

    Chairman | Republican

  1. Matthew Cunningham

    Vice Chairman | Republican

  1. Ellen Kent

    Secretary | Democrat


The Halifax County Electoral Board is comprised of three members who are appointed by a majority of the circuit court judges of the County for three-year staggered terms. Two members represent the political party of the governor currently in office and one member represents the political party having the second highest number of votes for governor at the last preceding gubernatorial election.

Voter Drive Information & Guidelines

"Effective July 1, 2013, all individuals or organizations requesting twenty-five (25) or more voter registration applications from the Department of Elections or local voter registration offices must register and complete ELECT certified training." - Excerpt is taken from the SBE website.

This training may be completed online by participating in a 30-minute interactive presentation either in your own home or at our office.

If you wish to complete this training online, please visit the official ELECT website.